Coming Out of the Spiritual Closet

You ever have one of those mornings where you get out of bed, something quickly goes wrong and you wonder why you bothered to get out of bed, didn’t just throw the covers back over yourself and sleep all day?

That is how I can best describe coming out of the spiritual closet. Going against the grain spiritually, even in our more liberal times, is a bumpy ride. Our society speaks of tolerance and acceptance, yet unspoken are the conditions under which that tolerance and acceptance is given. I am outside the box of what could be considered “traditional” religion. I have been very cautious about sharing because of my own fears about what would happen if I did. Facing the value judgements of others and having to convince them of why I am quite ok with where I am at. Then it occurred to me that it isn’t really my responsibility to convince anyone of anything. That insight freed me to begin sharing more openly about my journey. Starting the blog was the beginning of that process. My next step was bit more bold. (At least for me)

Last week, I took what is for me a very bold step: I edited my Facebook profile. Now at this point I suppose you are wondering what the big to-do is about changing a Facebook profile and may be tempted to stop reading right here. However, I want to challenge you to keep reading. I promise I am going somewhere with this. Albeit, probably not in the most direct route so just hang in there.

A few weekends ago I added my blog link to my Facebook profile. Prior to posting the link I would send a private message to a few select friends, letting them know the blog was up and ready. Putting the link on my profile was a huge step for me, it was putting myself out there in a way I had not done previously. This blog is more than just a place where I try to come up with some clever topic every week. I am sharing a part of myself that would probably remain uncovered if not for the blog. Putting the link on Facebook may seem a small thing but it is giving people a link to me, an invitation to step into my world and that is  sometimes a scary thing.

Then one night last week something came over me, a moment of courage (or craziness, it’s all a matter of perspective), I went for broke. I updated my profile in Facebook and edited the whole darn thing! Now on the surface what I added is inconsequential. Really, when you look at, it just words. However, those words to describe what I am exploring, what I find interesting, open a door. The door opens and allows me to breathe, to quit hiding away a part of myself that I have kept hidden, to finally be myself. On the other hand, opening the door also means being vulnerable. Vulnerable to what others think about you, what you are doing, judging whether it has value. The door works both ways, it can heal and it can hurt. I am the one who has to chose which it will be.

I am choosing that it will be an invitation. An invitation to be myself, my true self. Not the masks that I show to the world, but really me. It would be easier to go back to the more traditional path I was on but it wouldn’t be honest. I would be putting a mask back on that never really fit right in the first place. I felt like fraud then and I refuse to go back to that. Some may think I am lost, some may think I have just lost my mind but I assure you I am neither lost, nor insane. For the first time I am being…………me.

Namaste

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Coming Out of the Spiritual Closet

  1. Teresa says:

    Congratulations Liza!! I am sending you a big hug and a huge round of applause. Mmmmmwha!!
    Namaste

  2. Cindy says:

    Yay Liza for being you!!!!!!!

  3. Kim says:

    Liza:

    Sweetie, I absolutely love your blog. What you are accomplishing here is exactly what I have been trying to do with the magazine, except not just from a personal stand point but from a variety of people’s views and positions. I am so very proud of you and happy for you! Maybe you will consider submitting some of your articles to the magazine too. I would love to publish them for a lot more people to see as well (with a link staight to your blog!) 😀

    Anyway, I am so with you on coming out of the spiritual closet. Its been a bit difficult for me too and I still am hesitent to discuss all the in’s and out’s of my belief’s, but this is the best way I have found to get past that, put it in writing! 😀 Sending you lots of love sweetie. Keep doing you.

    • mslizah says:

      Thank you Kim for the lovely comment. It is humbling that so many people that read the blog, identify with it. I think I get as much out of writing it as people get reading it. It has blessed me in unexpected ways. I would be honored to have you publish my blogs in your magazine. That would be amazing.

      Sending love right back at you!!
      Liza

  4. happinessissuccess says:

    You go girl. I so identify with your “coming out”. 🙂 I have only recently taken more steps toward sharing my true self and I know it takes courage.

    I started to share myself and now have a regular column in 2 magazines. http://www.empoweronline.com.au and http://www.upmagazine.com.au UP is a print version that is only available by subscription but Empower is on line as the name suggests. I started writing just for the pure joy of it and have now channeled one book and written my own book on how I found my spiritual and sexual self on a adventure through Europe. I am looking forward to finding a publisher that knows how important it is for women to KNOW they are wonderful just by being themselves.

    I now follow my passions of photography ( my website is http://www.gaynorparkephotography.com) and writing and I have found that the more I express who I truly am, the more l enjoy life. Soooooo dear lady…enjoy… expressing who you truly are and those who vibrate to your beuty will join you.

    Love Gaynor xxx

    • mslizah says:

      Thank you so much for your kind encouragement! I am blown away by the feedback I have received about the blog. I will definitely check out that online magazine. Again, thank you for your encouragement. I hope you will visit my blog again soon.

      Blessings,
      Liza

  5. Kelley says:

    I feel like you just wrote my story. I have always refered to it as “coming out of the spiritual closet” too. I saw the title and had to read it. I have only come to my nearest and dearest. I wish that I could be as open with my beliefs as people are who follow organized religion. One day; one day.

    Kelley

    • mslizah says:

      Kelley,
      Thanks for the comment. I feel so blessed that the blog resonated with you. It is not easy being open and honest about what you believe and who you truly are. It is an ongoing process and I am by no means where I want to be but I do feel I am on my way and you are too. Just keep moving forward. A big {{{hug}}} to you.

      Liza

  6. Gaynor Parke says:

    The more you are yourself Kelly the happier you will be. You will find that like minded people will be drawn to you. In the long run there will be more support rather than criticism so be yourself and the heck with it.

    Sending you lots of support because you are worthy of being you xx

Leave a Reply

